Sexism In The Workplace

Hey guys, how are you?

I’m in the middle of my two night shifts at work which means I can’t post when I usually do, so I thought I’d get a post up in the daytime for a change. I really hate night shifts…

I want to talk to you guys about sexism. You all know I’m female, so it can be a big issue for me. I wouldn’t say I’m a feminist, mostly because I haven’t looked into what feminism really is and since they have a poor reputation I’d rather not be involved with something that I don’t know enough about; I just believe that all humans are equal and should therefore have equal rights. Seems fair doesn’t it? Just because some people have different genitalia or skin colour doesn’t make anyone less of a human, right?

Well this little anecdote actually happened to me last night at work. I was sitting at my desk just chatting and one of the warehouse guys, lets call him Ed, came in and started chatting with us too. He’s the kind of guy that lies just to get a response from other people, you know? The only people working in the office last night besides myself was my co-worker, let’s call her Gina, and my supervisor, let’s call him Ricardo. Ed was sitting with me and Gina since we didn’t have much work to do at that point, and started going on about women’s “time of the month” – and everything he was saying was completely wrong. I won’t go into details here but Gina and I could not believe our ears. We tried correcting Ed as much as we could but he was having none of it.

He left soon after that to get some work done, thank goodness, but then after an hour he came back inside, which is when everything kicked off; Ed claimed that he was much smarter than anyone with a “poom-poom” (he was referencing a woman’s genitalia but refused to say it). I won’t lie to you, that did make me rather angry. How can someone make such a ridiculous claim? Did he think that just because we had different sexual organs that we weren’t as intelligent? Yes, that’s exactly what he thought.

Long story short, we had a somewhat heated argument, with an audience (the other warehouse guys came in to see what was going on) and Ed eventually got told to get out by Ricardo. It just made me so annoyed! How can anybody be so arrogant as to think that a persons private parts have any correlation to the level of their intelligence?!

Okay, rant over. But seriously, if anyone has anything to add to this just leave a comment okay? I’m curious to hear other people’s opinions on this.

Have a wonderful day everyone.

~FoxQueen

One thought on “Sexism In The Workplace

  1. Hey again, sorry to hear you’re going through hard times. Please visit ACAS online. It’s a great place for a whole load of work related problems and how to tackle them tactfully. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

