A Closer Look

Hey guys it’s me again, hope you’re doing okay. Just a forewarning, this post is going to be a bit soppy, but hopefully it will give you more of an insight into my life.

A couple of days ago, I had the pleasure of celebrating my one year anniversary with my S/O. It’s the longest relationship either of us have ever had, and I can honestly say I have never been happier with anyone.

You always hear people give advice on relationships and I’m starting to realise how wrong most of the stuff I’ve been told actually is. Things like the “honeymoon” period where you’re all lovey-dovey only lasts about 4 months, then its likely you’ll have the argumentative stage which really “tests” you as a couple, etc etc. But frankly, none of that is true for us. I know every relationship is different, but I never imagined someone could be so wrong. My S/O and I are still quite lovey-dovey, but at the same time we are comfortable around each other, we know so much about one another and yet, even after being together for just over a year, we haven’t had a proper argument – disagreements, yes, but nothing serious enough to call a fight.

Due to reasons I won’t get too into at the moment, we don’t get to see each other as much as either of us would like; it just makes the time we do spend together so much more special, because we know it might be a while until we get to see one another again. We are both aware that he doesn’t have much free time – if at all – but he works overtime and practically pushes other things out of the way just so he can see me for that one day every couple of weeks, and I could not be more grateful. We don’t have much money and we live quite far from each other, but time sent with him is better than anything money could ever buy. And yes, I am aware at how soppy that sounds.

In fact, only a very select few people even know that we are together. Long story short, a person I was once close with didn’t like him and tried to make me date someone else so that I’d lose interest. When I refused, that person took all the other people I was close with and essentially made them dislike both myself and my now S/O, just because that one person didn’t like him. I don’t regret my decision – not even slightly. I’m glad those people are out of my life, and I couldn’t be happier that he is part of it instead.

Hopefully this isn’t viewed as a bragging post, it isn’t meant to be. I just wanted to share that social norms, especially about relationships, don’t fit everyone. This is so clichรฉ these days, but love is love. You don’t choose who you fall for, nobody does. As long as you’re happy, stuff the rest of them and go for it. Life is far too short to hold back just because social convention dictates that you need to act a certain way or do certain things. I don’t recommend you drop your friends if they don’t like the person you like or date, because that doesn’t always have a happy ending. What I do recommend, however, is getting rid of the toxic people in your life; those that don’t have your best interests at heart. You will feel so much happier in life after you do.

I wish all of you the best in all you do, have a wonderful night.

~FoxQueen

Leave a Reply

