The Little Things

Hello there, how was everyone’s Christmas Eve Eve? (That’s what my mother calls the 23rd December… No, I’m not entirely sure why).

Just wanted to share something that really brightened my day, in the hopes that something similar has happened to brighten your day too:

I had a tough shift at work – I mean, 12 hours is always tough but it was rather busy today because it was a Friday. I was in an awful mood by the time my shift was over, and the pouring rain didn’t particularly help, despite how much I love the rain… But when I got home, I was greeted by my overly large dog, who always whines and makes a scene if I don’t fuss her immediately – it’s what I always look forward to when I return home from somewhere. The amount of love I have for her, and vice versa, is always enough to put a smile on my face! But that’s not what I wanted to tell you; another thing that was waiting for me was further in the house. Friday nights are usually nights that my family and I order food in to sort of celebrate the weekend starting (as lame as that sounds, it’s like a family tradition), but usually if I’m working I miss out because my family would eat before I would even get home. However, tonight they waited a little longer just for me, so that when I got home there was a piping hot pizza ready for me in the kitchen… I really brightened up my mood and I was so grateful to my parents for even considering doing that for me!

I find small gestures like this are often the most thoughtful, even if the person doing said gesture doesn’t think it’s a big deal. It really made my night if I’m honest with you.

I hope the rest of you had a wonderful night as well!

~FoxQueen

One thought on “The Little Things

Leave a Reply

